Academic Calendar

 

Timing is everything, especially when it comes to going to college. Our academic calendars let you know crucial deadlines for registration, last days to add classes, last days to drop classes, midterm, exam schedules, and most important, when you get time off. Check out all the important dates for planning your semester. Find your priority registration date, payment due dates, last day to add or drop classes, see when you need to start studying for exams or find out when a semester break starts. Due to the difference in academic system between U.S. and Korea, the academic semesters at GMU Korea have different starting and ending dates than stateside.

 

SPRING 2018 FALL 2018
Registration Begins (returning students) Mon, Nov 27, 2017 Registration Begins (returning students) Mon, May 28
Registration Begins (new students) Mon, Jan 29 Registration Begins (new students) Mon, July 30
First Day of Class Mon Feb 26 First Day of Class Mon Aug 27
Independence Movement Day (no classes) Thu Mar 1 Last Day to Add (census)
Last Day to Drop with No Tuition Liability
Mon Sept 3
Spring Recess (no classes) Fri Mar 2 Last Day to Drop with 33% Tuition Liability Mon Sept 17
Last Day to Add (census)
Last Day to Drop with No Tuition Liability
Mon Mar 5 Harvest Moon Festival (no classes) Sun Sept 23 – Wed Sept 26
Last Day to Drop with 33% Tuition Liability Mon Mar 19 Mid-Term Evaluation Period for Full-Semester 100-200 Level Classes Mon Sept 24 – Fri Oct 19
Mid-Term Evaluation Period for Full-Semester 100-200 Level Classes Mon Mar 26 – Fri Apr 20 Final Drop Deadline with 67% Tuition Liability Fri Sept 28
Final Drop Deadline with 67% Tuition Liability Fri Mar 30 Selective Withdrawal Period – Undergraduate Mon Oct 1 – Fri Oct 26
Selective Withdrawal Period – Undergraduate Mon Apr 2 – Fri Apr 27 National Foundation Day (no classes) Wed Oct 3
Incomplete Work Due to Instructor Fri Apr 27 Fall Recess (no classes) Thu Oct 4 – Mon Oct 8
Labor Day (no classes) Tue May 1 Hangul Proclamation Day (no classes) Tue Oct 9
Children’s Day (no classes) Mon May 7 Incomplete Work Due to Instructor Fri Oct 26
Spring Recess (no classes) Mon May 21 Last Day of Class Wed Dec 12
Buddha’s Birthday (no classes) Tue May 22 Reading Day Thu Dec 13
Memorial Day (no classes) Wed June 6 Examination Period Fri Dec 14 – Thu Dec 20
Last Day of Class Tue Jun 12 Degree Conferral Fri Dec 21
Regional Election Day (no classes) Wed Jun 13
Reading Day Thu Jun 14 – Fri Jun 15
Examination Period Mon Jun 18 – Fri Jun 22
Degree Conferral Sat Jun 23

 

GMU Korea Spring 2018 Final Exam Schedule

 

Exam period begins on 6/18 and ends on 6/22.

Students who have more than one examination scheduled at the same time or more than two examinations scheduled on the same day should consult their instructors to request rescheduling.

 

Make-Up Periods for Final Exams

If the university is unexpectedly closed on an exam day, make-up times will be announced as soon as they are determined and will be notified via email.

If possible, make-up exams will be given at the same time and in the same room as the missed exams. Processing of grades and student transcripts may be delayed by use of makeup dates late in the exam period.

 

Final Exams for Non-Standard Courses

Non-standard courses – There is no pre-scheduled day and time for courses that meet at times not listed in the exam schedule below.  Instructors are responsible for scheduling an exam time and a make-up exam time through the Office of Academic Affairs by emailing mkaa@gmu.edu. The exam times must be announced to the class by mid-semester.